facebook twitter youtube tumblr vimeo instagram eventbrite








HRIFF 2025: Feb 12th-28th



Festival Photographs


Red Carpet



HRIFF Guests: Award Winning Filmmakers and Movie Stars

Hollywood's most star-studded event! Where fans meet, and filmmakers screen alongside, movie legends Pierce Brosnan (007), Jamie Foxx (Django Unchained), Sharon Stone (Casino), Hilary Duff (Lizzie McGuire), Josh Brener (Big Bang Theory), Joe Mantegna (Criminal Minds), Donna Mills (Knott's Landing), Timothy Busfield (The West Wing), Laura Prepon (Orange Is The New Black), Gary Cole (Pineapple Express), Frances Fisher (Titanic), William Fichtner (Dark Knight), Dan Lauria (Wonder Years), Melissa Gilbert (Miracle Worker), John Ennis (Mr. Show), Lin Shaye (Insidious), Sally Kirkland (The Sting), Dominique Swain (Lolita), Clark Duke (The Office),


Grace Zabriskie (Twin Peaks), Uwe Boll (Postal), Ed Asner (Elf), John Robinson (Lords of Dogtown), Kurt Fuller (Midnight In Paris), Richard Kind (Curb Your Enthusiasm), Bruce Davison (X-Men), Lee Meriwether (Batman), Linda Bloodworth-Thomason (Designing Women), Robert Picardo (Star Trek), Michael Pare (Virgin Suicides), Barbara Bain (Mission: Impossible), Danny Masterson (That 70's Show), David O'Hara (Harry Potter), Dee Wallace Stone (E.T.), John DeLancie (Breaking Bad), Duane Peters (Hunns), Christopher Masterson (Malcolm In The Middle), Michael Bowen (Kill Bill), Steven Bauer (Breaking Bad), Keith Carradine (Dexter), Anthony Geary (General Hospital), Dean Cameron (Straight Outta Compton), Winnie Holzman (My So Called Life), Adrienne Barbeau (The Fog), Alan Howarth (Halloween), Cloris Leachman (Young Frankenstein),


Dominic Purcell (Prison Break), Lloyd Kaufman (Troma), Traci Lords (Cry Baby), Mackenzie Philips (One Day at a Time), Haylie Duff (Napoleon Dynamite), Danny Strong (Mad Men), Rick Shapiro (Maron), Kimiko Glenn (Spider Man: Into the Spider-Verse), Richard Riehle (Office Space), drummer Artimis Pyle (Lynyrd Skynyrd), casting director Bonnie Timmerman (Black Hawk Down) …all guests of the Hollywood Reel Independent Film Festival!

HRIFF also hosted the last major public appearances for movie legends Martin Landau (Ed Wood, Mission Impossible), Richard Hatch (Battlestar Galactica), Jon Polito (Big Lebowski), John Heard (Home Alone, Cutter's Way), and Harry Dean Stanton.

HRIFF Honors Cinema Icons

HRIFF Award of Excellence recipients have included Peter O'Toole, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Warren Beatty, Kirk Douglas, Vanessa Redgrave, Gerard Depardieu, Frances Fisher, Tinto Brass, Don Hertzfeldt, Robert Drew, Bill Blympton, Helmut Berger, Hugo Niebeling, Ruben Ostlund, Robin Williams, Elaine May, and Harry Dean Stanton. While HRIFF Retrospectives honored Michael Mann, Kenneth Lonergan, Warren Oates, Gene Wilder, Haskell Wexler, John Cassavetes, Dusan Makavejev, and David Bowie.

HRIFF alumni directors Werner Herzog, Ron Howard, Charlie Kaufman, Michael Apted, Errol Morris, Julian Schnabel, Jacques Audiard, John G. Avildsen, Paul Donovan, Henry Jaglom, Yann Demange, and performers including Elliott Gould, Zack Braff, Terri Polo, Jonathan Pryce, Bryce Dallas Howard, Lisa Kudrow, Janeane Garofalo, P.J. Harvey, Jason Alexander, Bonnie "Prince" Billy, Colm Meaney, Fred Willard, David Cross, Kevin McDonald, Mischa Barton, Tony Hale, Doug Jones, Richard Lewis, David Arquette, C. Thomas Howell, George Takei, Carla Gallo, Howard Hesseman, Bai Ling, George Wendt, Ray Wise, Fred Roos, Harry Lennix, Nancy Travis, Betsy Brandt, Daryl Hannah, Mira Sorvino, and Paul Rudd.


HRIFF premieres have starred James Caan, Kristen Bell, Guy Pierce, James Franco, Mercedes Ruehl, Emily Mortimer, Taryn Manning, Ewen Bremner, Matt Walsh, Isy Suttie, Sean Astin, Ian McShane, Sandra Oh, Billy Zane, Dean Cameron, Joe Lo Truglio, Blake Anderson, Edward James Olmos, Lawrence Gilliard Jr, Annie Potts, Barry Bostwick, David Labrava, Susan Blakely, Penn Badgley, Eric Roberts, Jonah Ray, Denise Richards, Jamie Farr, Marla Gibbs, Nichelle Nichols, Perrey Reeves, Ed Begley Jr, Henry Winkler, Jane Kaczmarek, Yeardley Smith, Dyan Cannon, Salman Rushdie, and Kris Kristofferson.


HRIFF Award Recipients have also included Jeff Daniels (The Martian), Selma Blair (Hellboy), Paul Sorvino (Goodfellas), Kevin Pollak (Usual Suspects), Lori Petty (Tank Girl), James Hong (Kung Fu Panda), Steven Weber (Leaving Las Vegas), Jeremy Sisto (Six Feet Under), Martin Starr (Freaks & Geeks), and Jonathan Banks (Better Call Saul), and premiered the final projects of cinema legends Robert Loggia, Doris Roberts, James Caan, Mickey Rooney, and Harry Dean Stanton.

Festival Images

Red Carpet


Awards Ceremony

The Largest Film Festival at L.A. LIVE

Growing to prominence over the years at Quentin Tarantino's New Beverly Cinema, HRIFF is proud to be hosted by LA LIVE / Staples Center; the largest, most prestigious festival venue in Hollywood. With additional screenings at historic cinemas across Los Angeles. HRIFF is the top festival choice for Distributors, Financiers, Producers, Studio Executives, Agents, Casting Directors, Hollywood Celebrities, …and for millions of film lovers from Los Angeles and visiting from around the world.

With over two weeks of film screenings; HRIFF is the now the largest Film Festival at LA LIVE, and has become the Longest-Running Festival event held at LA LIVE / Crypto.com Arena.

HRIFF Emerging Talent Discoveries

Discoveries at HRIFF have included Keir Gilchrist (now the star of Netflix's Atypical), Alanna Masterson (from HRIFF Best Actress Winner, to seven years as a lead star in The Walking Dead), Alex Meraz (since cast in Twilight & DC's Suicide Squad), Toby Hemingway (Black Swan), Tyler Blackburn (Pretty Little Liars), Dean West (The Ledge), Steve Hicks (The Fuzz), Sean Brosnan (No Easy Days); each followed early-career premieres at HRIFF with future Hollywood success. Solidifying the Hollywood Reel Independent Film Festival's reputation as the premiere festival event to find the upcoming cinema superstars of tomorrow!


Now Open

Academy Awards© & Acclaim for HRIFF Filmmakers

Many HRIFF discoveries go on to wide distribution and acclaim: including Academy Awards© for "The Lady in Number 6" the animated "Mr. Hublot", as well as Oscar© nominations for the films of Bill Plympton, and three straight years of HRIFF Best Picture Winners: 2014 HRIFF Best Picture Winner "The Act of Killing", HRIFF 2015 Best Picture Winner "Force Majeure", and HRIFF 2016 Best Picture Winner "Trumbo" each received Oscar© nominations.

HRIFF films that went on to receive acclaim and wide distribution include: "The Act of Killing", ''Anomalisa", "Force Majeure", "Drift", "The Look of Silence", "Bridegroom", "A Day At The Pool", "Mr. Hublot", "The Lady In Number 6", "Assault on Wall Street: Bailout", "City of Gardens", "7 Years Underground", "Sex, Violence and Family Values", "Forget Me Not", "Henri", "Bible Storyland", "The Silent Thief", "Killing of a Sacred Deer", "The Lighthouse" and many more!